Obamacare Forum on Facebook Obamacare Forum on Google Plus Obamacare Forum on Twitter Obamacare Forum on LinkedIn

Greetings Obamacare Debater

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Facebook Sign In with OpenID Sign In with Twitter

In this Discussion

ObamaCare Forums are non-partisan. Ask questions, find information, discuss & debate about the Affordable Care Act, and please remember to follow the forum rules. Please do not debate and provide opinions within discussions in the categories for facts. Thank you for helping to keep these forums informative and constructive.

Waving Obamacare? Work more hours if spouse carries insurance?

I am a Firefighter.  I work Part time.  We also have full time firefighters working along side.  We have having a massive manning shortage and this is causing the full time guys to work a TON of overtime.  Its really starting to drain on them...and their families. This is also massively effecting the departments budget.  I as a Part time person am limited to approx 1500hrs a year because of the ACA.  I have full insurance though my wife.  So my question is.....If the fire department would allow me...can I work more hours and decline any insurance that they would offer?  I would be more than willing to do so.  Many of the firefighters are at their wits end....and I wanna help.

Answers

• If your employer offers insurance, then you cannot get a premium tax credit, but you can still buy a policy from the Exchange - but this seems to be moot as you get coverage via your spouse.