Obamacare Forum on Facebook Obamacare Forum on Google Plus Obamacare Forum on Twitter Obamacare Forum on LinkedIn

Greetings Obamacare Debater

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Facebook Sign In with OpenID Sign In with Twitter

In this Discussion

ObamaCare Forums are non-partisan. Ask questions, find information, discuss & debate about the Affordable Care Act, and please remember to follow the forum rules. Please do not debate and provide opinions within discussions in the categories for facts. Thank you for helping to keep these forums informative and constructive.

I have a question not even HR block could answer or the Obamacare help line here goes .........

2014 I  was enrolled in  plan in July after my insurance was cancelled .
I am a student and work however my income is variable and I had to estimate my earnings in July with no knowledge if work would be available in NOV and Dec but I could afford my premium with the subsidy  .

I received a subsidy  and picked a plan .

2015 Tax time I actually earned less than I estimated the prior year . So I received a subsidy and earned less . I fell below the 17500 highest subsidy level and above the 10200 medicaid amount .    Technically I should have been in medicaid but in 2014 they based estimates on prior year earnings .

So now I am getting letters from IRS saying I did not file all the paperwork blah blah blah - I dont have the paperwork as I did not work enough

So will I now have to pay what to who . I did not make enough to technically be in the  subsidy program . And now I am having to estimate for next year now I make my money again in nov and dec  . So I have no idea if I will hit 17200 for the year or fall under again . It all depends on what extra work I pick up and is available on college break.